Introducing … the New Editor

Greetings, CLTL Readers!

As the new editor of the Continuing Learning Through Education blog, I want to give everyone a quick introduction.I am Annie Bolthrunis, a second-year graduate student in the Professional Writing Program at the University of Massachusetts, Dartmouth.  I will be editing and publishing this blog from now until the end of the Spring 2012 semester.  As well as being a student, I am also a Teaching Fellow, now assigned two sections of Business Communications.

I will want your help.

My experience in higher education began with two years at North Shore Community College as a Liberal Arts student.  I transferred from NSCC to Salem State College (now University) in 2005.  I received my Bachelor of Arts degree in English with a concentration in Professional Writing and a minor in Philosophy.  While at Salem State, I also acted as Editor-in-Chief and Editor Emeritus of Red Skies, the school’s online magazine. While I enjoyed these editorial positions, I found that my true interest lay in writing, particularly creative non-fiction and fiction.  I began a novel, tentatively titled Nazi Zombies Take Salem, in a Writing Category Fiction class while at Salem State. Working on it has been fun and educational: it earned me the nickname “Crowbah,” as I know for a fact that should the apocalypse come, no weapon is better than a crowbar. Mine just has a New England accent.

After graduating in Spring 2009, I took a year off to decide what career path to take.  I found the Professional Writing Program at UMass Dartmouth, and because I hadn’t seen a graduate program in professional writing offered through another school, I applied and was admitted.  I began attending and teaching classes as a graduate assistant teacher in September of 2010.

Although I am in a professional writing program, I am keenly interested in all aspects of literature.  Some of my favorite writers include Charles Bukowski, Albert Camus, Alice Munro, and Jeffrey Eugenides, although I will read pretty much anything.  I’m also interested in many aspects of sociology and politics, so I think working as editor on this blog will be interesting and informative.

That’s where your help comes in.

The CLTL blog is always looking for submissions, whether in the area of literary analysis, alternative sentencing, or criminology. If you’re interested in writing a blog entry for us, or if you have any questions, we want to hear from you! Please contact me at CLTL@umassd.edu.

Annie Bolthrunis
9/23/2011
Editor
cltl@umassd.edu

5 thoughts on “Introducing … the New Editor

  1. Annie, it’s going to be a challenge to persuade my journalism class of skeptical high schoolers how CLTL works, but I vow to have some of them participate in replies, maybe even a posting.

Leave a reply! Filling out your name, email, and website is optional.

